Category Archives: FFA

2017 FFA/Agriculture Education Fair

The 2017 Section 3 FFA/Agriculture Education Fair was held on July 6 and 7. The Horse Show was hosted at the Agriculture Pavilion on the East Campus of Black Hawk College and the remaining projects were judged at the Henry County Fairgrounds in Cambridge, Illinois. Stark County members exhibiting projects in horses, livestock, horticulture, mechanics, and proficiency awards were Colby Wall, Samantha Wall, Teresa Heuermann, Heather Heuermann, Jessica Purdy, Lily Snider, and Emily Fairfield.

2017 Illinois FFA Convention

2017 Illinois Association of Vocational Agricultural Teachers (IAVAT)

Retiring Stark County Agriculture Instructor Scott Fairfield received the Section 3 Excellence in Teaching Award from the IAVAT at the annual conference in Bloomington.

District 1 Excellence in Teaching Awards presented at the IAVAT Conference to (l to r): Ed Curry – River Ridge, Eric Tryggestad – Byron, Scott Fairfield – Stark County, Scott Riden – United, and John Heiser – Putnam County.

2017 Stacey Fairfield Memorial Scholarship



2017 Stacey Fairfield Memorial Scholarship Recipients

When Stacey Fairfield lost his battle with leukemia in November of 2006, the family wished to honor his memory and his passion for agriculture by establishing a scholarship to fund the educational pursuits of high school seniors toward an agricultural career. Through the generosity of individuals and area businesses, the Stacey Fairfield Memorial Scholarship was established in the spring of 2007 to assist the educational expenses of scholarship recipients at a postsecondary educational institution majoring in any area of the agriculture industry. Previous recipients of the Stacey Fairfield Memorial Scholarship have included Addison Ryan, Jeremy Shaner, Nicholas George, Jon Heaton, Kevin Baumann, Elizabeth Heaton, Nolan Elsasser, Bruce Appenheimer, Blaze Porter, Cody Scott, Ethan Scholl, and Hudson Elsasser.

The 2017 recipients of the Stacey Fairfield Memorial Scholarship are Jessica Purdy and Samantha Wall. Jessica is the daughter of Michael and Jennifer Purdy of Castleton. Jennifer’s educational plans include attending Midwest Technical Institute in East Peoria studying Welding. Jennifer’s career goal is to eventually get employment in the welding industry as well as a side career as a landscaper. Samantha is the daughter of Dave and Lana Wall of Bradford. Samantha’s educational plans include attending Black Hawk East in the Veterinary Assistant Program with the possibility of transferring into the Veterinary Technician Program also at BHE. Jessica and Samantha will each receive a $ 1,000 check payable to their educational institutions they will be attending this fall.

Congratulations to the 2017 Stacey Fairfield Memorial Scholarship recipients and also a thank you to all the students who applied for the scholarship this year. Best of luck in your future educational and career plans. Thank you to all area individuals and businesses who have contributed to the scholarship fund. If interested, contributions to the Stacey Fairfield Memorial Scholarship may be mailed to the following address:

Stacey Fairfield Memorial Scholarship Fund

c/o Anderson State Bank

111 Highway U.S. 34

Oneida, Illinois 61467

2017/2018 SCHS FFA Officer Team

Congratulations to the 2017/2018 Stark County FFA Officer Team: 

President – Drew Ford

Vice President – Katie McCauley

Reporter – Cammille Gaspard

Secretary – Adam Irving

Treasurer – Makenzie Snyder

Sentinel – Colby Wall

2017 FFA Elementary Petting Zoo


Katie McCauley advances to State Agricultural Education CDE

The purpose of the Agricultural Education Career Development Event is to provide individuals with basic skills necessary for a career as an agricultural educator. Teaching agriculture involves teaching students about applications of science, management, leadership, and technology in the food, fiber, natural resource industry. Teaching methods emphasize hands on approaches where application of skills and knowledge is central to lesson presentations. Agricultural Education strives to make learning enjoyable, meaningful and lasting. Agriculture Education incorporates classroom and laboratory instruction, supervised agricultural experiences (SAE), and the FFA to allow for the personal development of students both inside and outside the classroom to better prepare them for success in life. Congratulations to the ten individuals who will be competing in the final round of competition for the 1st Illinois Agricultural Education CDE!  Students submitted lesson plans in April and the top ten competitors, based on lesson plan scores, will present 10 minutes of their lesson at Illinois State FFA Convention.  Information was emailed to all advisors who had students submit a lesson plan.


Top Ten Illinois Ag Ed CDE (in alphabetical order):


Melanie Blazek, Illini West FFA

Lilah Bobinski, Midland FFA

Breanna Bone, Mahomet-Seymour FFA

Mikayla Busby, Monticello FFA

Andria Denault, Herscher FFA

Nicole Laskowsk, Marissa FFA

Katie McCauley, Stark County FFA

Hannah Niehaus, Staunton FFA

Liberti Noble, Mt. Carmel FFA

Mallory Unverfehrt, Okawville FFA


State IAVAT Poultry Career Development Event

2017 Section FFA Agriculture Mechanics CDE

(L to R: Michael Purdy-Welding, Bailey Real- Agr Power, Mike Steelman- Electricity, and Makenzie Snyder- Surveying)
Agriculture Mechanics CDE consists of a team of five members, each competing in their chosen area of carpentry, welding, agricultural power, surveying, or electricity. The top team and any first place individuals not on the first place team are eligible to compete at the state level at Parkland College in Champaign.
6 schools – 26 students – Host: Bureau Valley


1. Cambridge  325
2.Bureau Valley 322
3. Orion 294
4.Stark Co  259 (4 students)
5. Princeton 228
6. Kewanee  (2 students) 90
Ag Power
1. Tom Clifton  Orion 75
2.  Cole Wright Princeton 74
3.  Alix Olson Cambmridge 62
4. Drew Baker BV 58
5.  Baley Reel Stark Co 57
6. Bobby Ince Kewanee 39
1.  Caleb Franck  Cambridge 92
2.  Brandon Freed Orion 90
3.  Mike Steelman Stark Co 70
4. Princeton 54
5. Tanner Maynard BV 52
6.  Kewanee 51
1.  Colton Franck Cambridge 86
2.  Makenzie Snyder Stark Co 80
3. James Krieger  BV 65
4.  Taylor Walton Orion 21
5.  James Bickett Princeton 8
1.  Chase Gripp BV 91
2. Wyatt Martens Orion 63
3. Maddy Stevens Cambridge 53
4.  Princeton  52
1.Tyler Thompson  54
2.  Mike Purdy Stark Co 52
3. Wesly Tennant Orion 45
4.  Aaron Sears Princeton 40
5.  Laney Fuquay Cambridge 32

2017 Agriculture/FFA Legislative Day

Agriculture/FFA Legislative Day at the State Capitol Building in Springfield gives Illinois FFA members the opportunity to thank legislators for their support of agriculture education and the FFA in Illinois. Stark County members met with Senator Chuck Weaver concerning his daily responsibilities representing the people of his legislative district. FFA members Colton Gallion, Gage Foglesonger, Katie McCauley, Cammille Gaspard, Mike Steelman, Sarah Pike, Jessica Purdy, Wyatt Bantz, and Adam Irving attended the event delivering commodity baskets and lunches to legislators and their staff.